lovelysalome
Private

Company aid man questions

Tue Aug 25, 2009 16:00

Hello,

I am a writer researching a novel about a company aid man with the 82nd Airborne. (Consider me a reenactor with words!) Ideally, my character would've been a volunteer paratrooper but a reluctant medic.

During my research, I haven't been able to determine the scenarios by which company aid men in the airborne were allocated and trained. Was the man a paratrooper first, then selected to become an aid man from among his company? If so, when would any medical instruction have taken place during the course of his training? Or was he trained with a separate medical unit and then attached to the company before combat?

I would appreciate any and all scenarios for how this would've occurred.

Thanks!

TenthA86
Captain
Captain

Re: Company aid man questions

Tue Aug 25, 2009 17:03

From the combat medics I have interviewed, most of them were selected at entry or in Basic for that job - some held medical-related jobs before they entered the Army - some didn't. These jobs were not requiring extensive training (prarmacy clerk, door-to-door drug sales, hospital janitor), but to the uninitiated, they worked around sick people, so make 'em a medic!

Training was done (usually) before assignment to a unit. I would suspect that an aid man would have his medical training before he went to his unit and recieved jump training. Once assigned to a parachute regiment, he would get the same jump training that the rest of the soldiers got.

FYI, the medic was part of the medical company or medical battalion assigned to the infantry company or squad. He always was a medic first, and part of the squad second. It was common for the medics to work with several squads and to rotate through - working with whatever unit needed medical support at the time.
David J. Little

President, Tenth Mountain Division Living History Display Group
Secretary, Tenth Mountain Division Foundation