GliderRiderMedic
Technical Sergeant
Technical Sergeant

Oxygen therapy in WWII

Sun Dec 19, 2010 09:40

Does anyone have any information on how oxygen would have been given to troops in field hospitals and such? Were there provisions for it to be given to patients who needed it prior to or after surgery? I Know there were the tight-fitting facial masks (similar to what aircrews wore) for surgical patients, but were there things like nasal catheters and such? I know the nasal cannula commonly used now was not developed until after the war, but one would think that there would have something similar for treatment of folks who did not have a need for high-flow oxygen?

BTW, I am a respiratory therapist and this particular aspect of care, therefore, interests me a great deal.

Ben
Major
Major

Re: Oxygen therapy in WWII

Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:23

Stephen,

There were two types of apparatus used in the field to provide oxygen therapy. These were:

- Oxygen Therapy Outfit, with Manifold (Item # 9364300)
- Oxygen Therapy Apparatus, Closed Circuit (Item # 9364000)

You can see illustrations of these kits in the MED3 Supplement of the 1944 Medical Department Supply Catalog. The actual procedure that was used is described as follows (please note that this was taken from TM 8-230 Medical and Surgical Technicians dated August 1950, although the process was the same during WW2):

TM 8-230 wrote:a. DESCRIPTION. Methods of treatment that increase the concentration of oxygen in the air breathed by a patient are called oxygen therapy. Oxygen therapy is not a specific treatment for any particular disease; it may be used when there is reason to suspect oxygen deficiency regardless of the disease. It is a type of therapy which, by itself, is generally not lifesaving, but it may be a very important adjunct to other types of treatment. Though it may not prevent death, it makes the terminal stage easier, and its use in critically-ill patients is often justified for this reason.